I’m Already Slacking on my 2012 Goals!

 

It’s the 18th day of January, and I’m slacking on my 2012 goals!!  Yikes!  What’s going to happen on the other  347 days.

At the last minute, I was asked to speak about why my Toastmaster’s club is so successful. And of course, I mumbled and grumbled because I didn’t want to do it.  Matter of fact, I was looking for the nearest exit!  (Did I seriously forget that one of my goals is to speak EVERY chance I get! Worse yet, did I seriously forget that I am a member of Toastmasters and the MAIN reason I joined was to be a better speaker!).

I had to put on the brakes!  Hold up, wait a minute. I’ve been in Toastmasters for almost a year now. I’ve given numerous prepared speeches and have worked on my off the cuff speaking through Table Topics. I CAN DO THIS!  So, I mustered up courage, got up there, and gave a 3 minute speech (yes, it was a measly 180 second speech) about why my club is a-w-e-s-o-m-e.

I realized one MAJOR thing after stepping down from the stage?

My fear of public speaking is slowly disappearing into the atmosphere. I used to totally get worked up about what the audience thought about me: Do they think my clothes look nice?  Is there food hanging from my mouth? Man, they must think I’m a dummy for saying that word. Is the audience bored to death?

Sure, I’m not 100% comfortable in front of strangers. But, I have come so far!! I don’t suffer from nervous sweats, a fast beating heart, blank out moments, or stuttering. Through practice and building confidence in myself, I am slowly becoming that amazing speaker that I’m striving to be.

People always talk about being fearful of public speaking?  But, what is it about public speaking that terrifies you?

Follow ST on Twitter

This entry was posted in fear, preparation, presentations, public speaking, speaking. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m Already Slacking on my 2012 Goals!

  1. Tiffany says:

    Public speaking does not terrify me as much as it used to…but I could use the experiences that Toastmasters offers. I will look into joining my local chapter soon.

Leave a Reply

